The Convergence Point

Because Story is independent of medium

Single-Track

leave a comment »

That’s the last time I’m using my Twitter account for GDT news.

Why?

I’ve divided my house, that’s why.

Writing’s first rule dictates that the writer know his audience. Mine happens to be some Cape Ann readers, but mostly media minds from Boston’s North Shore and beyond. The last few days, I’ve thrown them a few curveballs, like the time my twitter feed filled up with Manchester Town Meeting notes, or my daily news postings. Not what my readers expect.

It’s confusing.

Social Media platforms require acute focus. It’s you, alone on the internet, trying to do something that nobody else is.

For local papers, that’s doing the local news and community chatter. No one else will do that.

A paper needs to stick to it’s guns, and do what it does best.

Just like I’m going to.

Written by Steven A. Fletcher

April 15, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

