The Convergence Point

Because Story is independent of medium

Next!

with 2 comments

I’ll wrap up my series on social media series  with a piece on generating traffic. But, before I go any further, I’d like to ask you, my readers, where I should go next. The Convergence Point’s focused on Twitter in the last few weeks, and while that’s helpful, tweeting alone won’t staunch the newspaper industry’s seeping wounds.

I designed The Convergence Point to build a model for  a successful community newspaper. Not one that simply did well, but that made the community better for having it. The current model’s broken and misguided, like a runaway train – and about as safe to ride on.

It’s broken. This blog aims to provide one possible fix, and beyond that open up some discussion about where we need to go with local news.

So, I’ll open it up to you,

What do you want me to talk about next? Who do you want me to talk to, and where do you see the future of local papers? Why are we dying and how can we save ourselves?

I’ll propose my model in four weeks from today. A series each week on a different facet.

But I’ll need your help as to what those facets will be.

Written by Steven A. Fletcher

April 12, 2011 at 10:14 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d like you to talk every “old schooler” in the newsroom and try to break down some recurring themes as to why they may be reluctant to embrace social media as part of the way they communicate or gather the news.

    Then I’d like you to determine if it is a fear of not being able to learn how it works in the first place or if it is a denial that it even matters or if it is beneath a legitimate newspaper to acknowledge social media as a form of “reporting”

    Eventually I’d love to hear your thoughts as to if there whole business structure of the current paper would eventually need to be torn down as we know it if it is ever to be rebuilt into a viable independent profitable business.

    Joey C

    April 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    • Thanks Joey! Now I’ve got a few talking points, and if you ask me, we need to overhaul our current system. It’s too sick to heal at this point.

      Steven A. Fletcher

      April 13, 2011 at 9:48 am


Leave a Reply

